Beauty defined by beautywatchers

During an interview once, the HR director of one of the largest cosmetic companies in the world asked me “what is your own definition of beauty?”. Although, I have never asked myself this, honestly I like the way that he just slipped the question at the end of the interview to get something out of me.

Without thinking I immediately replied with the first thing that popped into my mind. I think beauty comes from inside and that inner beauty is more significant than outer beauty. I also added that a beautiful person from inside always appears beautiful in the eyes of others.

Was that the right answer a cosmetics interviewer with a portfolio of makeup, hair, skin care and perfume brands would expect?  

Why not? One of the most successful marketing campaigns of the last decade was “Dove Campaign for real beauty”; an advertising campaign that turned the advertising world upside down. Before launching this campaign, Unilever spent months of research on how societies across the globe define beauty. Gorgeous thin models were replaced with real customers! Curvy, oversized, silver haired older, wrinkled and even pregnant women appeared in all the ads instead.

Well that is my own definition. So when a couple of weeks later after that interview, I got an email from Nao about the idea of creating this blog together and that we will call it beautywatchers. I thought that this should be one of our first topics to discuss. Therefore, now I am inviting all the beautywatchers to share their own perspective of beauty:

So guys, what is your own definition of beauty?  

Comments
One Response to “Beauty defined by beautywatchers”
  1. Outer beauty comes from inner beauty, it is my definition of beauty also.
    How people look comes from what they feel inside.
    Confidence, happiness, energy etc. show in their eyes, and they are the fuel of people to glow.
    In opposition, sadness, evilness etc. also show in the expression somehow.

    And cosmetics are tools to enhance their own beauty, not to make the beauty.
    But cosmetics can give confidence, happiness or energy to people.

    Beauty is how you feel inside, and it reflects in your eyes. It is not something physical.
    -Sophia Loren

    I believe so.

    Emi

Leave a comment

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.